What's your screen width?

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR

My screen is this many pixels wide. Please choose closest one

Less than 1000
1
1%
1000 - 1200
3
2%
1200 - 1400
2
2%
1400 - 1600
3
2%
1600 - 1800
6
5%
1800 - 2000
60
50%
more than 2000
46
38%
 
Total votes: 121

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 4536
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:08 am

What's your screen width?

Postby OXO » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:28 am

We'd like to know for a certain project...
OXO,
Condor Team
Official facebook page

John Verschoor
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:15 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby John Verschoor » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:13 am

Added my vote. Currently 1980 x 1200, might upgrade to multiple display if "a certain project" makes it worthwhile:)

John 76

Doggy
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Doggy » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:26 am

Currently 1680 however have a plan to upgrade to 34" 21:9 (2 560 × 1 080) within a month (want be ready when a certain project finishes ;) ) So voted 2000 and more
Image

timbaeyens
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:31 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby timbaeyens » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:40 pm

As can be read elsewhere, I currently use a dgvoodoo wrapper to run condor on my 34" 3440x1440 at full resolution. Awesome ;)

My brother ran a 3 screen setup with dgvoodoo at full resolution: 1920+2560+1920.

At latter setup, a fundamental flaw of this dgvoodoo workaround solution with condor v1 became apparent: there is only 1 virtual 'camera' so, the 2 side monitors receive a stretched image as one would see with fish-eye camera towards the edges.

Modern games utilize more virtual camera's.
I hope condor v2 supports this.

Now I must say I am using currently using opentrack and a diy IR LED setup, which nullifies the need for a very wide FOV on multiple screens to some extent.

Greetings,
Tim

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:47 pm

Triple screen. Center one 2560, +2 x 1920.
So, total 6400 pixels horizontally.
although playing in triple screen is a bit too wide (53:9 aspect ratio!), I tend to use only center screen for condor.

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:00 pm

Steam's hardware survey might also interest you if you want to find out what hardware people run these days:
http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey

as its a much larger sample size; but of course, its data from gamers in general, not just soaring sim pilots.

User avatar
ts
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby ts » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:45 pm

I have a triple screen, i would love somthing like Nvida's Simultaneous Multi-Projection (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6NbyEmPalA) or have running two slave instances of condor that connect to the master and only render the camera perspective.

regards tom
Image

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:15 pm

ts wrote:I have a triple screen, i would love somthing like Nvida's Simultaneous Multi-Projection (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6NbyEmPalA)


Oxo, please watch the above video if you're serious about supporting multiscreen! That is precisely the issue.
I have a recent AMD card, but if condor 2 supports multiprojection in hardware, Ill switch to nvidia in a heartbeat.
(That is assuming AMD doesnt have something similar).

User avatar
EDB
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:17 am
Location: The Netherlands, Europe Continent, Earth Planet, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super Cluster

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby EDB » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:13 pm

Triple EIZO 24" 1920x1200 for about 5 years now. Driven by Multi-Display Eyefinity Technology.

Triple screen with :
DCS World - Digital Combat Simulator
rFactor 2
DiRT Rally

Without NaturalPoint TrackIR5 in rFactor 2 and DiRT Rally. With NaturalPoint TrackIR 5 in DCS World and Condor. TrackIR 6 Axis in DCS, only 3 in Condor.

You need TrackIR for looking up and down while flying. And when you are using TrackIR, three monitors are nice, but not needed. They are however needed in Racing Sims.

PS
I choose "1800 - 2000" because of the native res of my screens. And I now don't fly triples in Condor V1 and might not fly triples in V2. I use my other screens for Teamspeak, maps and other stuff while flying.

pstrzel
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby pstrzel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:38 pm

Oops, I was too hasty voting. :oops: Please disregard one vote in the "1000-1200" category and place it in "1800-2000". Sorry.
Image

DanD
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:58 am
Location: Kanata(Ottawa), Canada

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby DanD » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:40 pm

I have 2 1920x1080 27" Monitors. Currently use one for Condor, other for teamspeak, maps, etc. About to shift from Core 2 Duo to i5-6500 so might also go to dual 1920x1080 (or perhaps a 34" 2560x1440) when a certain project comes to fruition.
Image

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:03 pm

DanD wrote:I have 2 1920x1080 27" Monitors. Currently use one for Condor, other for teamspeak, maps, etc. About to shift from Core 2 Duo to i5-6500 so might also go to dual 1920x1080 (or perhaps a 34" 2560x1440) when a certain project comes to fruition.


Dual monitor is going to be awkward with that thick bezel right in front of you.

EDB wrote:You need TrackIR for looking up and down while flying.


Or 6 monitors :p.
Well, 4 might work, like this:

Image

And when you are using TrackIR, three monitors are nice, but not needed. They are however needed in Racing Sims.


"needed" is pretty relative. As it is in condor, Id say it looks weird and unnatural, due to the incorrect projection and stretching. Particularly with my setup, having a UWD 21:9 monitor in the middle doesnt help the problem. Its the same in IL2 BoS. Maybe its handled better in DCS though? Ive not tried that yet.

HornetSk
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 12:02 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby HornetSk » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:46 pm

2048x768 Matrox Dual head adapter (split it to two 1024x768). Without wrapper maximum for Condor V1

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_p69UwOsNU
Image

User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Paul_UK » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:26 pm

Currently I'm using a 1920x1080 monitor however I soon plan to upgrade to a 3440x1440 monitor :mrgreen: So I ticked the over 2000 box.

I can't be bothered to deal with dual monitors so going this route is logical for me!
Bronze by Spring......I hope!
Bronze C completed 3-4-2017 - Hoping worked :mrgreen:
Silver height / duration complete - Just that 50km distance flight now. Roll on Spring!

trjepp
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:38 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby trjepp » Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:40 pm

2560x1080 Ultrawide. Please, please, please 21:9 support!


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], djmomo, Ed, Flightbase, Stef_riccobono and 7 guests