What's your screen width?

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR

My screen is this many pixels wide. Please choose closest one

Less than 1000
1
1%
1000 - 1200
3
2%
1200 - 1400
2
2%
1400 - 1600
3
2%
1600 - 1800
6
5%
1800 - 2000
60
50%
more than 2000
46
38%
 
Total votes: 121

User avatar
Freebird
Posts: 2461
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:40 pm
Location: North Wales UK

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Freebird » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:19 pm

2560x1440 just need resolution support :)

User avatar
EDB
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:17 am
Location: The Netherlands, Europe Continent, Earth Planet, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super Cluster

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby EDB » Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:07 am

janjansen wrote:...Id say it looks weird and unnatural, due to the incorrect projection and stretching. Particularly with my setup, having a UWD 21:9 monitor in the middle doesnt help the problem. Its the same in IL2 BoS. Maybe its handled better in DCS though? Ive not tried that yet.


I didn't have much problems in DCS. But then again... with TrackIR I'm not using the side screens. Even if I have them enabled with Eyefinity. It only ads some "being there" by adding info to your peripheral vision*. In rFactor (and other racing sims like Assetto Corsa and iRacing) you can tweak your Field of View with many parameters like viewing distance, viewing angles, monitor sizes and monitor angles, etc. to get the perspective correct**... In those racing games you definitely use your side monitors for looking into the corners...

A good FOV setup is difficult to show in pictures. The picture must be taking with the nodal point of the camera exactly in the eyepoint of the setup. If you stand next to the setup, it will look weird and incorrect.

And in the picture you show the monitors are incorrectly setup in Eyefinity (or the Nvida version of it). You have to ad the "virtual pixels" of the monitor bezels. Then the lines of the cockpit frame will look correct. This is very easy to visually setup with Eyefinity.

* https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peripheral_vision
** rFactor 2 random examples (Not mine, I have uninstalled rFactor 2 at the moment because of the Steam transfer) :
https://i871.photobucket.com/albums/ab2 ... xxrij5.jpg
https://i871.photobucket.com/albums/ab2 ... zwxcob.jpg

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:08 am

EDB wrote:I didn't have much problems in DCS. But then again... with TrackIR I'm not using the side screens. Even if I have them enabled with Eyefinity. It only ads some "being there" by adding info to your peripheral vision*. In rFactor (and other racing sims like Assetto Corsa and iRacing) you can tweak your Field of View with many parameters like viewing distance, viewing angles, monitor sizes and monitor angles, etc. to get the perspective correct**... In those racing games you definitely use your side monitors for looking into the corners...


I dont think the big difference is between racing and flying sims. In both cases you want to look in to the corner, or look before you make the turn. I think the big difference is that those race sims support multi projection, where as DCS (and condor) do not. Or maybe DCS does, if this post is to be believed, but I cant find much on it:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=108162&page=2

And in the picture you show the monitors are incorrectly setup in Eyefinity (or the Nvida version of it). You have to ad the "virtual pixels" of the monitor bezels. Then the lines of the cockpit frame will look correct. This is very easy to visually setup with Eyefinity.


Sure, AMD cards do bezel compensation fine (as do nvidia cards), but I do not find that all that important, especially not a with sim like condor. The real problem is the perspective correction, and avoiding endless stretching on the outer screens. For that, you need the sim to render 3 camera views, one for each monitor. Im hoping Condor V2 will support this. Rendering 3 views can take a hit on your FPS, but the latest nVidia cards support this in hardware at virtually no cost. It doesnt look like AMD supports this yet, but that just means a FPS hit, not that it wont work.

OTOH AMD's eyefinty supports multi monitor with different resolution (my center monitor is 2560 wide), and that is something that nVidia does not properly support yet. Im actually thinking of rotating my center screen in portrait mode makes more sense for flight sims. That is something I could set up with eyefinty (AMD), but not with nVidia. And not with condor V1 anyhow because of dgvoodoo (which I use to enable high resolutions in condor V1) working with my previous nVidia drivers, and intel IGP, but not with my recent AMD card.

So, with AMD cards I can not run at higher than 1920 resolution, or use dgvoodoo and get red color corruption. With nVidia dgvoodoo worked fine, but I can only configure 1 monitor or get a stretched center monitor because it assumes 3 identical monitors. So right now, I have a powerful AMD card and three monitors, but I play condor using integrated graphics on just one. Frustrating :).
Last edited by janjansen on Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

janjansen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby janjansen » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:13 am

Freebird wrote:2560x1440 just need resolution support :)


Depending on your videocard and drivers, you may not need to wait for V2 to enable native resolution, see this workaround:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=16821#p149688

User avatar
BOD1
Posts: 1438
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Brittany, France
Contact:

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby BOD1 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:44 am

Chris, just ask for numbers :)

Code: Select all

+---------+-------+
| percent | width |
+---------+-------+
|      27 |  1920 |
|      19 |  1280 |
|      13 |  1366 |
|      10 |  1680 |
|       6 |  1440 |
|       6 |  1600 |
|       5 |  1024 |
|       2 |  2560 |
|       2 |  1536 |
+---------+-------+

Based on CC's 22K user's profiles.
Image
Please use this button to send me a PM, Forum messaging is too limited.
Image

Sephiroth0014
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:04 pm
Location: St-Hyacinthe Qc Canada

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Sephiroth0014 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:21 am

3840x1024 Matrox TrippleHead2Go adapter (split it to three 1280x1024).
2400X600 only, in Condor. (Yes I know about dgvoodoo, but to much bugs with this....)
ImageImage

User avatar
Flightbase
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:44 pm
Location: Uelzen
Contact:

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Flightbase » Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:24 pm

3840 × 2160 + Track IR 5 is my weapon of choice ;)
The first time you'll get a Microsoft product, that doesn't suck, will be the day they start producing vacuum cleaners.

BBU25
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby BBU25 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:09 am

Currently 1920x1080 on two screens shared.

User avatar
congo
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby congo » Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:51 am

In my opinion, the posts here reflect a biased result towards high resolution.

My thinking is that those simmers who invested in higher end screens and systems are more than happy to talk/boast about it, soo we see a bias in that direction.

To truly move beyond 1920x1080 successfully, a lot of money needs to be spend on hardware, with the cost of a compliant PC nearly doubling.

Whatever your project is, if it is marketed/targeted to elitist PC users, you could isolate the mainstream market.
Image

User avatar
congo
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby congo » Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:51 am

double post, sry.
Image

User avatar
Freebird
Posts: 2461
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:40 pm
Location: North Wales UK

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Freebird » Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:16 am

I would think that resolutions that people want to use need to be supported & tested, that doesn't mean 1080 is unimportant its actually the most common resolution used by gamers.

tom eagles
Posts: 2186
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby tom eagles » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:35 am

With V2 Supporting Dx11 there will be no resolution issues or problems with multiple displays, you will be only limited by your hardware configurations NVidea and Eyefinity multiple screen setups will work as expected, this thread was actually aimed at something else unrelated to the in game graphics 8)
Image

Sooocool
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:59 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby Sooocool » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:50 am

1800 - 2000

timbaeyens
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:31 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby timbaeyens » Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:21 pm

Even if 1920x1080 is the most widely used screen, we should not forget 2 things:
Condor 2 will have to last 10 odd years, by that time 1920p is well below standard.
Condor is a simulator as much as - or more than - a game. Immersion and life-like appearance is important; this requires resolution.

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:08 am

Re: What's your screen width?

Postby OXO » Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:19 pm

OK, I'll explain..

This is not about Condor2 resolution, because that's all handled by DirectX.

This is about the website design, and what size screen most users will be viewing it on. :D
OXO,
Condor Team
Official facebook page


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 3mendo, askforplanes and 9 guests