Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR

lshachar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:11 pm

Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Postby lshachar » Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:26 pm

Hello,
I'm a fairly new paragliding pilot, interested in soaring simulators mainly for thermaling, and figuring out everything LK8000 has to offer me.
I'm not here for the competitive side.

There are two threads in this forum (latest from 2012) that suggest there isn't time acceleration feature in Condor. (and that some of you oppose this feature.)
I am here just to make sure that this is in fact the case. please let me know if this has changed so I could buy this sim :)
If it is the case, and that's not possible - wow! I'm happy I just dodged the bullet and didn't buy Condor!
I've tested Silent Wing's demo, (which supports time acceleration) but condor is the leading soaring simulator,it supports LK8000 and I was hoping for drifting source thermals (I couldn't find a way to make a drifting source thermal in silent wings)

but flying for over a minute (let alone 5, 15 or more!) to get close to the next cloud? no way jose! that's definitely not my cup of tea!

pstrzel
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Postby pstrzel » Sun Jul 23, 2017 9:07 pm

Well, if learning to look for lift doesn't interest you, perhaps soaring in general isn't your cup of tea.
Image

sadatoni
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am

Re: Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Postby sadatoni » Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:33 pm

From what I see (I've had Condor now for a few months), everything is in real time. Well, except analyzing your flight, and that can be played back up to 64x -- a 2-D map and a barograph.

There's one scenery where, as you fly along using ridge lift, looking down, there are paragliders flying (Bex ==> Rarron task in the West Swiss scenery) below at one mountain.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Postby Paul_UK » Mon Jul 24, 2017 6:20 pm

No time acceleration so looks like you can't buy Condor. Shame seeing as it's best simulator I've used when it comes to gliding.

You do have a second option with Condor though. Whilst it is still real time you can set the gliders track to get to the next thermal, turn on autopilot, trim it to the speed you wish to go and let it fly whilst you make yourself a cuppa. That's the best you'll get :D

Just remember thermals aren't always marked in Condor thus you could well fly through one if you're purely relying on Cu to mark thermals for you.
Bronze by Spring......I hope!
Bronze C completed 3-4-2017 - Hoping worked :mrgreen:
Silver height / duration complete - Just that 50km distance flight now. Roll on Spring!

lshachar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:11 pm

Re: Condor's lack of time acceleration feature

Postby lshachar » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:17 pm

Thanks guys for your comments, (welll, actually, not pstrzel. no thanks goes to you. I understand that you can start a flight already airborn in Condor. I hope you're not using that feature! if learning to wait around behind the tow plane/winching every time doesn't interest you, perhaps soaring in general isn't your cup of tea!)


Thanks paul for your suggestion... I guess If I can run condor on two different instances, I can thermal in one instance and autopilot to the next thermal on the other instance :) Kind of like playing chess against yourself!

I wish someone at condor would have listened to this cry. uh well


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FlyInverted, Hubert, Stefan Beach and 9 guests