My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Interested in building your own home grown cockpit?

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:41 pm

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alienist
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:52 pm

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby Alienist » Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:50 am

Very nice man! Would you recommend the rudder pedals?

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:28 pm

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RodNoc123
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby RodNoc123 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:02 pm

EricLachine wrote:The bass-shacker are incredible, you feel your flight, it's crazy. and the track-ir is a must, with those two and a big screen you don't need to add movements to your seat,with the bass-shacker you know it when you climb or when you fall, and when rolling on the runway it's almost the same as in a real glider.


What exactly does the bass-shaker do and how did you hook it up to the system? I'd love to get some details on this - it sounds very interesting!

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:36 am

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alienist
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:52 pm

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby Alienist » Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:50 pm

I think I'll also get the Logitech G940 Flight Control System...

binky9
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:18 am
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby binky9 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:43 pm

I like what I see, but have a question. Why two instrument panels? I could see having the one on the second monitor, if you could eliminate the one on the big screen and just see the tow plane and scenery. I also like the idea of XCsoar on a laptop. You can use the mouse instead of a stylus, right?

Glad to hear you like the G940. I have one, but haven't used it too much. I'm still married to my MS FFB stick. I may need to get a divorce, though. :wink:

binky9

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:33 pm

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RodNoc123
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby RodNoc123 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:58 pm

EricLachine wrote:So i connected a subwoofer amplifier to my laptop wich run Condor, and connected the Bass-shacker to it, that's it!

The result is simply amazing, it shake your butt and feet like crazy!


Does the Bass-Shaker turn the Vario sound into vibrations? Or does it use a different source to indicate thermals?

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:07 am

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rontheglider
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby rontheglider » Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:37 pm

Hi,

Nice job.
How do you connect XCSoar to Condor ? are they running on the same computer ? Or on a seperate laptop ?

Regards,

Ronald
Image

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:29 am

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NoXylophone
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:59 am
Location: Redmond, WA
Contact:

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby NoXylophone » Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:40 pm

Nice work. I'm working on something similar but a bit more integrated.

Where did you get the transducers? The only company I know that sold them as a kit was called ButtKicker, but they seem to have gone out of business. My design calls for a pair of them but I'm having trouble tracking down the parts. (EDIT: Just saw your links, thanks :D)

And would you mind sharing details of your G940 setup? I'm planning on getting one in the next couple of weeks and would love some setup tips. I want to run airbrakes on one lever and flaps on another (I think there's an AutoHotKey script somewhere here on the forums for setting that up). And have you had any trouble with the so called "reversal bug"?

How's the force feedback? I've got a MS FF2 right now that's pretty good, but not really suited for building into a cockpit.

EricLachine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:46 pm
Location: Lachine (Québec)

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby EricLachine » Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:20 pm

.
Last edited by EricLachine on Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

binky9
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:18 am
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: My Condor simulator... (Open Cockpit)

Postby binky9 » Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:51 pm

Eric,

How about putting your settings here in the forum. I just might use them if/when I go back to the G940.

BTW, the trigger button on my MS FFB stick started acting up. I don't know anything about opening it up, so I went looking for a replacement. I found a "Red" version on ebay, new, in an unsealed box, for $100. :D

binky9


Return to “Cockpit Builders”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests