Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Everything related to creation of new sceneries for Condor...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR, ASH33M

pstrzel
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby pstrzel » Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:47 pm

seisdude wrote:Still stuck trying to run gdalwarp. I get ERROR:4 scenery_mosaic.tif is not recognized in file system and is not recognized as a valid fileset.

Thanks much. Just about to throw in the towel.
ks


Sorry, but I have to make sure we're on the same page. Is it because you called it something else in the previous step? "Scenery_mosaic.tif" is an example name that I used in the tutorial, but if in you created a file called Bigfile.tif then that's the name you should use in the following step. This should be the file that you created in Imagelinker (II. Landsat/step 3).

Can you find your "scenery_mosaic".tif file in the FWTools2.4.7\bin directory or is it missing in action? If that's the case, then it could be in your Windows "Virtual Store", because you didn't run Imagelinker as Administrator. If the file is in place but still unrecognized, could it be that you didn't save it in Imagelinker as gdal-Gtiff file? There were a lot of file options to choose from, so it's easy to make a mistake.
Image

seisdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby seisdude » Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:49 pm

I ran imagelinker, even though I am only using one Landsat image, and thought I saved if correctly but had to move it into the bin directory and renamed it to my scenery name(NWMich). I will rerun that process for a double check.

Thanks...this can be pretty frustrating for a non programmer.

ks
Image

seisdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby seisdude » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:16 pm

Ok. I found mistakes where files where misplaced. Reran imagelinker and "finished" than said not responding but the file was where it was supposed to be. Ran gdalwarp and it says my x coordinate, taken from the hdr file "does not exist in file system and is not recognized as a supported file dataset name". Any ideas? Should I go back to downloading Landsat or even back to calibration? or could I be typing something wrong in the FWTools function?

tnx,
ks
Image

pstrzel
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby pstrzel » Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:55 pm

The Scenery.hdr file contains coordinates for the entire scenery, but you said that you used only one Landsat image. If that image doesn't span your entire scenery than yes the coordinates from the HDR file would not be contained in the image as they would be somewhere outside of it.

Don't give up. I don't mean to scare you, but I went through the same pains for several months. That's why I took notes and posted them here, to spare others the pain of researching all of it. Perhaps the notes are not as self-explanatory as I thought. :oops:

FYI, my first scenery (Landsat-based) never materialized, but it was much easier second time around with "Utah".
Image

seisdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby seisdude » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:22 am

Thanks for your encouragement. I will be checking Landsat xy's with the hdrs tomorrow...and maybe download extra imagery just to make sure it contains my area even though I'm pretty sure it does, but it must be a problem along thoughs lines. It almost seems as if the .tif doesn't contain the xy's. It's recent imagery, 2013. Maybe landsat headers are in a different format or location? I'll keep at it and let you know if I break though this "wall". :?
Image

luisbriones
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:56 pm

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby luisbriones » Wed May 03, 2017 5:16 pm

Hi,

I started a new scenery follow Tom Berry's tutorial, but I have some troubles than stop me.

Meanwhile I work in a second option follow this tutorial. I completed the step I and I can flight in a ghost scenery. All work ok there.

I don't follow the step to download and processing the satellites images. Instead of that I use the SAS.Planet program. To test this method I use a low resolution image.

For my 10x14 tiles area I obtain a Tiff of 16080 x 17244 pixels. This is the info for that image:

Code: Select all

Driver: GTiff/GeoTIFF
Files: D:\imagenes\Z14.tif
Size is 16080, 17244
Coordinate System is:
GEOGCS["WGS 84",
    DATUM["WGS_1984",
        SPHEROID["WGS 84",6378137,298.2572235604902,
            AUTHORITY["EPSG","7030"]],
        AUTHORITY["EPSG","6326"]],
    PRIMEM["Greenwich",0],
    UNIT["degree",0.0174532925199433],
    AUTHORITY["EPSG","4326"]]
Origin = (-68.920154571533203,-37.659931182861328)
Pixel Size = (0.000171661376953,-0.000171661376953)
Metadata:
  AREA_OR_POINT=Area
  TIFFTAG_SOFTWARE=SAS.Planet with LIBTIFF, Version 4.0.6
Copyright (c) 1988-1996 Sam Leffler
Copyright (c) 1991-1996 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Image Structure Metadata:
  COMPRESSION=LZW
  INTERLEAVE=PIXEL
Corner Coordinates:
Upper Left  ( -68.9201546, -37.6599312) ( 68d55'12.56"W, 37d39'35.75"S)
Lower Left  ( -68.9201546, -40.6200600) ( 68d55'12.56"W, 40d37'12.22"S)
Upper Right ( -66.1598396, -37.6599312) ( 66d 9'35.42"W, 37d39'35.75"S)
Lower Right ( -66.1598396, -40.6200600) ( 66d 9'35.42"W, 40d37'12.22"S)
Center      ( -67.5399971, -39.1399956) ( 67d32'23.99"W, 39d 8'23.98"S)
Band 1 Block=16080x1 Type=Byte, ColorInterp=Red
Band 2 Block=16080x1 Type=Byte, ColorInterp=Green
Band 3 Block=16080x1 Type=Byte, ColorInterp=Blue


My short calibration coordinates are:

Code: Select all

0,0,-40.56582186,-66.18171986
230400,0,-40.60023145,-68.90325931
230400,322560,-37.6936068,-68.90715888
0,322560,-37.66256638,-66.29515128


Following the step III. Orthophotographic HD image data I tried to use this command:

gdalwarp –r cubicspline –wm 1024 –ts [width] [height] –te [left_map_x -45] [lower_map_y -45] [right_map_x +45] [upper_map_y +45] <scenery_mosaic>.tif <scenery_cropped>.tif

My HDR info is :

Code: Select all

file_title             = SAHR_UTM
data_format            = int16
map_projection         = UTM Zone 19S
ellipsoid              = WGS84
left_map_x             = 508230
lower_map_y            = 5505660
right_map_x            = 738540
upper_map_y            = 5828130
number_of_rows         = 3584
number_of_columns      = 2560
elev_m_unit            = meters
elev_m_minimum         = 57
elev_m_maximum         = 1976
elev_m_missing_flag    = -9999


Using this, I obtain a black image:

Code: Select all

gdalwarp –r cubicspline –wm 1024 –ts 10240 14336 -te 508185 5505615 738585 5828175 Z14.tif rec.tif


If I quit the -te part (gdalwarp –r cubicspline –wm 1024 –ts 10240 14336 Z14.tif rec.tif) the image is ok.

I tried with lower values in -te option but always obtain a black images.

Any ideas?

pstrzel
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby pstrzel » Wed May 03, 2017 7:01 pm

It seems that gdal doesn't recognize your TIFF coordinates. Perhaps your file is not georeferenced or the georeferencing was stripped during another process. It is important to use original georeferenced data and not re-save as TIFF in graphics software before using gdal tools.

http://www.differencebetween.info/diffe ... nd-geotiff

I remember having a similar problem before, but unfortunately I don't recall how I solved it or if I solved it. I've done a lot of trial and error.
Image

luisbriones
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:56 pm

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby luisbriones » Wed May 03, 2017 8:30 pm

pstrzel wrote:It seems that gdal doesn't recognize your TIFF coordinates. Perhaps your file is not georeferenced or the georeferencing was stripped during another process. It is important to use original georeferenced data and not re-save as TIFF in graphics software before using gdal tools.

http://www.differencebetween.info/diffe ... nd-geotiff

I remember having a similar problem before, but unfortunately I don't recall how I solved it or if I solved it. I've done a lot of trial and error.


I'm doing a lot of trial and error this days :D :D :D

I' didn't touch the image with any other software than that you put in the tutorial or QGIS.

Just in the moment that I read your post I have my first success. Using QGIS I can change projection of my image, cut the excess and made my 140 tiles.

I don’t know was be the error using your instructions, but using QGIS I must to edit the sentence, eliminated “-of ADRG”

I'll write my experiences to help others. I ask you if I can use your tutorial as start of mine.

Regards,

Luis

PS: My image in UTM coordinates and cropped. The circles are the calibration points.

exito.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pstrzel
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Utah

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby pstrzel » Thu May 04, 2017 6:10 pm

Go for it. There's no copyright, but if I made mistakes, you will own them now :D . I don't know how valid any tutorial will be once Condor 2 comes out. A lot of procedures may change.
Image

luisbriones
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:56 pm

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby luisbriones » Thu May 04, 2017 7:38 pm

pstrzel wrote:Go for it. There's no copyright, but if I made mistakes, you will own them now :D . I don't know how valid any tutorial will be once Condor 2 comes out. A lot of procedures may change.


I put only the working part!!!! ;-)

Condor 2... Who knows? Alpha version for now ;-)

Meanswhile maybe it usefull for somebody

luisbriones
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:56 pm

Re: Photorealistic scenery tutorial

Postby luisbriones » Fri May 05, 2017 4:48 pm

I put my work in:

http://forum.condorsoaring.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17414

I think that the use of QGIS to process images is a little more easy than the original proposal in this post, and easily modificated to use con Landsat or other images.

Regards,

Luis


Return to “Scenery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest