How to create TP over 5000 m

This is the best place to exchange flight plans and flight tracks...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR

Xavier
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: France

How to create TP over 5000 m

Postby Xavier » Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:36 pm

TP above 5000 m
Till now, there were few sceneries where the altitudes of the peaks were above 5000 m. With Sagarmatha 1.0, Everest is over 8800 m, Tibetan highlands are on average between 4300 and 4800 m, and peaks of the highlands plateau are over 5000 m.

Sagarmatha 1.0 would remain an experimental scenery if we had not found again the way to create TP over 5000 m.

As in the classical setting of a TP in a task, there are 2 methods, although we prefer a viewed window.



TP with classic sector type over 5000 m:

When creating a task, a TP was put on the "Kangurru Kusum" to 6147 m.

Image
TPP1

If you fly the task as it is build, nothing will happen and you will not validate the TP during passage through the classic sector, as you will be over 5000 m within a radius of 3000 m. And the task cannot be validated.

For TP over 5000 m, you must edit the Properties window.

Image
The red arrows indicate three important points:
The elevation of TP: 6331 m
Altitude max.: 6500 m instead of 5000 m
No evidence that maximum altitude is displayed at the TP on the map, and take in account for the task.


Now, you will click on the arrows to set the maximum altitude..


Click a first time, altitude comes back to 5000 m instead of 6500 m, and there is still no indication at the TP on the map.

Image
TTP3

Click a second time: Bingo! You return to 6500 m, and you can read 0-65 at the foot of TP on the map, which shows that the altitude of the TP over 5000 m had been taken in account for the task.

Image

Just then click OK to accept the TP.

The screnshots show that the TP is not visible, but the passage through the TP sector is accepted till to 6500 m.

Image

Image

Moreover, the invisibility of TP, you also understood that the height over the TP is limited to 100-200 m above the ground level where the TP was implanted, which may cause many outlanding problems on highlands.

That's why we prefer Windowed TP for these altitudes.


Windowed TP over 5000 m.

Initially, we proceed in the same way as with conventional construction
Same problem as previously, you must then edit the "Properties" from TP

Image

The arrows indicate three important points :
The elevation of TP: 6331 m
The altitude. : 6500 m instead of 5000 m
No evidence that the maximum altitude is displayed at the TP on the map, and take in account for the task.

Then click on Sector Type arrows to switch for windowed mode .

Altitude is blinking..

The current altitude is implemented at 6400 m (rounded to the upper from 6331 m) and the TP is already successfully implemented on the task with the reference at the TP foot of 64-65, on the map.

Image
TPF2

But with windowed TP, we can also use the height of the window to enhance the max altitude of the TP. This window height will be shared under and over of the average altitude of 6400 m.

Image

For example we have chosen a width of 200 m and a height of 4000 m (you can set it higher). But already we see on the map of the flightplanner that the window height is between 44 (4400 m) and 84 (8400 m). The advantage is obvious in the highlands close to 5000 m or higher where you can give a good margin of 2000 m or more for a window of 4000 meters high, in order to avoid outlanding when passing too close to the TP ground.

Also set the correct orientation of the window. Then click OK.


Screenshots during flight testing

Image

Image

Image


That’s all folks, now you can create new tasks without being limited by the max altitude of 5000 m.

Good flight.
*****- Xavier - (XDL * F-DELX) -*****

User avatar
3P
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:28 am
Location: Nitra
Contact:

Re: How to create TP over 5000 m

Postby 3P » Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:57 pm

Or simply use notepad.exe to edit FPL file ;)

Xavier
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: How to create TP over 5000 m

Postby Xavier » Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:12 pm

Of course it is possible to use the note pad, for TP max, min altitude and for Penalty zone...

Zone Interdite Et TP Cambouis.jpg


and a little help to do it corectly with Condor 1.14

Zone Interdite Et TP Cambouis 2 en.jpg


Be careful with TP and Penalty Zone number....

Good flight
*****- Xavier - (XDL * F-DELX) -*****


Return to “Flight Tracks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests