Grand Canyon - Scenery under devoloppement

Everything related to creation of new sceneries for Condor...

Moderators: Uros, OXO, GR, ASH33M

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Grand Canyon - Scenery under devoloppement

Postby Dom » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:44 pm

Hi..

I was starting collecting data from Grand Canyon.
This is what came out..
The area will be at 350 x 220 km2 big.

I will continue to the next step in the coming week.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Dom on Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CN: VD

User avatar
kloudy
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:14 am
Location: US KollyFohnia

Postby kloudy » Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:41 pm

WOW, I can see it now.

A race to the bottom.

tp windows thru the length of the canyon gradaually leading the competitors to the bottom.

and in Condor...we don't need a landing field, the river will hold us up.

Should be fun.

Good luck on an interesting project.
Image

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Wed Jun 07, 2006 5:07 pm

^ Thanks :wink:

_________________
Just that you all know, I am not from the area, I just got this idea that it would be fun flying there.. So, if anyone is interested to help, he's welcome to do it..
CN: VD

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:16 pm

Okay!

I have a problem with the textures.. I don't know how to make them on my own, not using Terragen.. The result of using Terragen is wrong coulor at the rigde, take a look at the picture..

So, if anybody could help to explain how to "draw" my own textures (or maybe how to use photorealistic textures) that would be nice..

Regards
Dominik
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:20 pm

And also an another thing...
When I was testing the scenery above the textured area, this came up..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

ASH33M
Posts: 1716
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 1:01 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby ASH33M » Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:06 am

Dom,

First of all, what size are you rendering your tiles at when using Terragen.

User avatar
Trace - 95T
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Rockford, IL
Contact:

Postby Trace - 95T » Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:03 am

This sounds like fun! We could race from one end to the other in the canyon! And have turnpoint windows "in" the canyon that you must fly through, high speed ridgerunning the whhhoole time.
Trace Lewis - 95T

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:50 pm

ASH33M,

The rendering size was 1280x960, now I tried with 512x512, and no problems any longer.. But the texture coulor should not be green.. Can you help me with that?.. Thanks..

Dom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

ASH33M
Posts: 1716
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 1:01 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby ASH33M » Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:52 am

Dom,

Rendering at 1280 x 960 is incorrect has you have found out, thta's the reason why you were seeing the textures as small strips, these are the only sizes that you will be able to render your tiles at when using Terragen.

Terragen (free version), 512X512 only

Terragen (registered version), 512x512, 1024x1024, 2048x2048, 4096x4096

To change the colour of the textures to something that's more suitable to the area that your designing you will be able to do this when using Terragen.

Try this link you may find it hepful, if your still having problems, post a pm.

http://www.caroluk.org.uk/terratut/

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:10 pm

Too much green .. :?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:13 pm

Project news:

After that Terragen did not made the wished result, I've tried to make it on my own .. That means I have "drawed" the texture on my own..

This was came out:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

User avatar
Dom
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:57 pm
Contact:

Postby Dom » Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:35 pm

News:

I tried to find some texures for my scenery using Google, and i discoveret that someone allredy made the whole work! :o The data is from a public U.S. government agency, so anyone can use it how he likes too.. Well, so why make the work twise? .. After all that means that I have to increase the scenery area to 260 x 160 km. So I started over again.. There is still hard work forward, because I have to place the textures correct, like photorealistic scenerys.. It seems to that these new scenerys are an mix of real photos and drawed work, well, only the river is drawed on with blue. But still, I think it would be nice flying in the area..

Screenshots:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: VD

User avatar
xiff
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:51 pm
Location: Gruyère, switzerland

Postby xiff » Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:17 pm

great the color ;) bravo! clap clap clap :D
take a look on your sponsoring page ;)
Image

User avatar
Janus
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:39 am
Contact:

Postby Janus » Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:21 pm

Hi,
very nice work, but one failure is in it ;-). A 1000km FAI Triangle doesnt fit in it ;-)

BR Helmut
Janus B forever!

Image

ASH33M
Posts: 1716
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 1:01 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby ASH33M » Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:23 pm

There will be other sceneries available soon where you will be able to fly a 1000km triangle task.


Return to “Scenery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests